Magazines Meet Social Media

The digital era has shaken up the media industry and will continue to do so. Magazines are discovering their ability not only communicate with their audience but also to interact with them in a way that will change content and the brand of the magazine itself.

I enrolled in the #NewhouseSM4 course knowing that it would give me skills I was lacking to enter the publishing industry during this time of change. This past week I was able to combine my knowledge of the magazine industry with everything I have learned in the class.

Research for this project was unlike any research I had done before. Instead of sitting in a library looking for studies I just Googled “magazines using social media.” As I discovered all the cool things magazines were taking on to go digital, all I had to do to collect the data was tweet my links with our group hashtag; #socialmags.

The research also became social as I collected it using Pearltrees. Pearltrees is a great curation tool for organizing content around a certain subject. I found it to be very visually appealing, and therefore much less intimidating than my usual stacks of notebook papers full of research.


Before presenting to the class, we met with Dr. Ward via a Google+ Hangout. Google+ has become one of my favorite social media platforms. In a Google+ Hangout, my team and I were able to edit documents together in the comfort of our rooms and sweats.

We were down to business…then we discovered Google Effects!

After the presentation, Storify was a great tool for curating what the class thought about and learned from our group. It’s tools such as Storify and Hashtracking that have given evidence to the power and influence of social media as necessary tools in the media industry during the digital era.

Check out the presentation!

5 responses to “Magazines Meet Social Media

  1. Great post, Rachael! I agree, Google Hangout was a great tool to use, even better than Skype! Pearltrees revolutionized my research for this presentation as well. #NewhouseSM4

  2. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew
    of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my
    newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time
    and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like
    this. Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your
    new updates.

  3. I visited several websites however the audio quality for audio songs existing at this website
    is truly fabulous.

  4. I really like reading an article that can make men and women think.

    Also, many thanks for allowing me to comment!

  5. Hey there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community
    in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done
    a outstanding job!

Leave a Reply

